Five toys I wanted for Christmas in the 1960s… but sadly, I didn’t get

December 29, 2012 § 3 Comments

I began thinking about what Christmas is like for a kid and I remembered a feeling of hope. Not the hope that is manifested in the season, such as the hope for mankind now that the Savior is born. The hope that comes from wanting cool toys. 

Toys I wanted that I didn’t get… (Why do I still remember these?) Worse yet, why am I still thinking about them? 

#1 the EASY-BAKE OVEN

This toy came out in 1963 (in turquoise) and only cost $15.95. The toy still exists today, but looks more like an ugly plastic microwave.

Image

See how happy the girl looks?

Image

Look at the baking delight that one can create. I don’t bake much these days–I blame it on the fact that I never received this toy.

#2 LITE BRITE

Lite Brite came out in 1967–wasn’t much to it. Just a light box, black paper and a billion little pegs you pushed through the paper to get them to light up. Fascinating technology that I just had to have… it was the start of my fascination with electronics. It had many small pieces/parts–that’s probably why my parents didn’t get it for me. I am pretty sure this toy still exists also. 

Image

#3 MYSTERY DATE GAME

mystery date

This cool game came out in 1965. You opened the door to reveal one of 5 mystery dates:

  • The formal guy in a tux (probably the one most little girls found the most appealing, mainly because he was dressed up)
  • The bowling date
  • The beach date
  • The skiing date
  • The “dud” of course (I didn’t think the dud was all that bad-looking)

My friend had this game so at least I was able to do a little mystery dating.

#4 ROCK ‘EM SOCK ‘EM ROBOTS

Not sure why I wanted this– it was really targeted toward little boys and their violent tendencies, but I liked it.

Image

#5 DON’T SPILL THE BEANS

spill beans

I am not sure why I wanted this game either–there wasn’t much to it. You just added beans until the bucket tipped over.

People Watching TV (18)

I think it was the TV commercials–the 1960 TV commercials could make a kid beg for just about anything.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Five toys I wanted for Christmas in the 1960s… but sadly, I didn’t get

  • beadstork says:

    I desperately wanted the Easy Bake also! My mother had the most boring of comebacks: “If you want to bake something, honey, just use the real kitchen.” Well, using the real kitchen involved obtaining permission and then supervision of the eating of the product of the cooking. The beauty of the Easy Bake would have been that I could use it when I wanted to, in the middle of the night if I wanted, and I could wolf down the baked goods without fear of censure. Oh well.

    • dia says:

      That sounds like a pretty typical mom response. I think my mom may have said something similar. I am finding out that the Easy Bake Oven was a toy MANY girls longed for (and one guy I know–who wanted the freedom to bake sweets at will). I don’t care much for baking now, I like to blame it on the fact that I never had the joy of baking a cupcake using a light bulb…

      Thank you for visiting and sharing your thoughts.

  • Monique says:

    OMG – i had light bright (still have it), and i had mystery date (the 1970s version – don’t have it anymore darn it). i know a store you can buy the 1965 repro version of mystery date – i almost bought it for myself during xmas…..

Please leave a comment...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Five toys I wanted for Christmas in the 1960s… but sadly, I didn’t get at tangled mess.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

