battling Christmas decoraphobia

November 30, 2010 § 2 Comments

a massive accomplishment last Christmas

I recently diagnosed myself with severe Christmas Decoraphobia Syndrome. I have so much trouble decorating for Christmas. Not sure why— is it laziness or  lack of interest? I appreciate beautiful decorations, I really do, but putting up a Christmas tree and figuring out what to put where, overwhelms me.

Christmas arrives too quick and departs too quick. That’s my problem with Christmas. That’s my problem with everything.

My other problem that makes Christmas difficult is that I am NOT organized for the season, or any season for that matter. I know I will start decorating and will want a certain something that I know I have, in a box, somewhere in a box. But what box? Where’s the box? That might be it… open it, dig to the bottom, no that’s not it. Maybe it’s in the plastic bin underneath those 3 boxes, dig dig dig.. nope. Oh there it is, sitting on the shelf on the other side of the room. The storage room is now becoming a massive chaotic mess, as I feverishly am searching and various box contents are now strewn about the floor. I don’t want to put anything back, I may need it — now at least I can see some of the stuff I have.

The absolute most dreadful task though is taking the decorations down. Who wants to do that? They never fit in the boxes the way you want them to. And what about all the breakable stuff that has to be carefully wrapped and packed away just so? I just put up all this stuff, now I have to put it all away? What a horrid way to spend a day. The awful chore of dismantling the decor is enough to convince me not to do any decorating at all.

My mother-in-law has the right idea. A pre-decorated tree that never gets undressed. She simply throws a sheet over it and it gets hauled to the basement fully decorated. Could I possibly get away with that? Maybe I could securely tie all of my ornaments on somehow and try it. I wish my house could be built with a trap door underneath my Chrismas tree and I could simply lower and raise it as needed.

Enough procrastinating. I must go. I have to find all my ornaments. I have a tree to assemble and then decorate. I have to dig in a billion boxes and plastic bins in order to produce a massive pre-Christmas mess.  Or maybe not. Merry Christmas.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to battling Christmas decoraphobia

  • Marsha says:

    It sounds like you have a very disorganized life. I know Christmas decorating, baking, shopping, etc. is a lot of work. It does require some planning. Do the hardest and time consuming job first; quit fretting about decorating. If you don’t want to decorate the house then don’t, but do a nice job on the tree. If that doesn’t work then buy a couple of poinsettias, some cookies, and enjoy the holidays with family and friends and be done with it!!!

  • Monique says:

    wow you sure have a fancy looking house.

Please leave a comment...

What’s this?

You are currently reading battling Christmas decoraphobia at tangled mess.

meta

