if only I could get a La Femme

December 20, 2010 § 11 Comments

I think I should have a 1955 Dodge La Femme. It’s beautiful. It’s unique. It comes complete with accessories to match the interior—a gorgeous purse, coin purse, comb, lipstick, compact, cigarette lighter, umbrella, raincoat and hat. What else do you need?

The year is 1955, American families are becoming 2-car families. Mom needs her own special car that she would LOVE to be seen in. Something to call her own, to showcase her independence from relying on “the husband” for everything. Dodge introduces the La Femme. I am not overly-thrilled with that name, it means woman in French. La Femme sounds like some kind of lady product that sits shyly on some grocery store shelf, but the vehicle is stunning. It doesn’t sit shyly anywhere, it screams for unbridled attention.

Unfortunately it didn’t do much screaming for Dodge, only 2,500 were produced. It seems women just weren’t interested in this “girly” car or maybe it was the husbands that didn’t want such a feminine machine residing in their garage. Sadly, the La Femme is, for the most part, a memory tucked away deep in the Chrysler archives. Most Americans today aren’t aware that she ever existed.

Here’s my little tribute to this rare beauty, gone, but certainly not forgotten.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 11 Responses to if only I could get a La Femme

  • I’m really loving the theme/design of your weblog. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems? A number of my blog visitors have complained about my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any advice to help fix this problem?

  • weight loss says:

    Hi there i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace,
    when i read this article i thought i could also create comment due
    to this brilliant article.

  • I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This paragraph posted
    at this web site is actually pleasant.

  • that is SO adorable! I want one!

  • Marsha says:

    Sorry, I guess I mis-stated. My friend’s mother was not the one driving the La Femme once in a while it was my friend who got to use it occasionally.

    In answer to Monique, I resided in the Detroit area near Michigan Avenue.

  • Marsha says:

    Oh, I just love that car; it brings back memories. I was in high school in the fifties and one of my friend’s mother had a La Femme. She was able to drive it once in a while and we had a great time cruising up and down Michigan Avenue. Those were the days!!!!

    • dia says:

      Interesting. Why was your friend’s mother only able to drive it “once in a while”? What color scheme did your friend’s mother have? I’d love to hear more about it.

    • Monique says:

      Hi Marsha! do you live in the Detroit-area or do you live in Chicago?? i ask because you mention Michigan Avenue. I live in a suburb of Detroit – we LOVE our cars! how exciting that you got to drive in a LA FEMME back in the day!!!

  • Monique says:

    OMG – i can’t believe you blogged about LA FEMME – my brother-in-law bought one completely restored last year! it’s beautiful! he doesn’t have all the accessories that came with it like the purse, umbrella, lipstick, etc., but that’s ok – the car itself is SWEET. he collects old cars and he sold his 1972 Charger, his 1978 Corvette, and his 1966 Plymouth in order to buy the LA FEMME. it was worth it!! my sister and i get to drive it once in a while and we have a blast!

    • dia says:

      your bro-in-law must be loaded. I would be very curious to know what he paid for a fully restored La Femme and how he even found one. Does he actually drive it around?

      • Monique says:

        my brother-in-law found his LA FEMME online and bought it. i am not sure what he paid but he had to sell three cars in order to buy it. yeah he drives it around once in a while, but only on nice days and he NEVER parks it anywhere unless he is at a car show and he is standing next to it the whole time. his friends laugh at him for driving a a woman’s car, but he doesn’t care because it is so cool.

Please leave a comment...

What’s this?

You are currently reading if only I could get a La Femme at tangled mess.

meta

