my life with crooked bangs

December 22, 2010 § 3 Comments

me with my perfect 1960s bangs

For most of my childhood, I had crooked bang syndrome. It’s because my mummy used to cut my bangs with paper shears. The ghastly uneven bangs weren’t done intentionally, that’s just what they did back then. We all had crooked bangs in the 1960s. To complete the look, the bangs were chopped to reside at least 2 inches above your eyebrows and were sculpted to extend far into your hairline on each side of your face.

The cutting technique was simple— mom would just rest the scissors on my forehead, catch as much hair in the middle of the scissors blades and chew across, just as you would through a sheet of paper, crunch, crunch, crunch and TA DA ultra-short CROOKED BANGS.

Early signs of crooked bang syndrome

I didn't even care that I walked around with crooked bangs

By this time, the crooked bangs were well established

kindergarten--sporting "the bangs" (a little long, aren't they?)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to my life with crooked bangs

  • Monique says:

    Well when i was little my big sister went to beauty school, so guess who cut my hair until i was old enough to pick and pay for my own stylist?? my whole haircut was crooked, not just my bangs!

  • jlheuer says:

    Did you steal those pictures from my Mom? Those sure look like my bangs back then. Jeanne

    • dia says:

      Too funny Jeanne, I guess we have all been there with having our moms cut our hair when we were little!!! The pictures are so fun to look back on. Thanks for visiting!

Please leave a comment...

What’s this?

You are currently reading my life with crooked bangs at tangled mess.

meta

